State Gun Purchasing Requirements

Get information about gun permit requirements in all 50 states.

Consult the chart below to learn whether or not your state requires a permit to purchase a handgun or to carry a concealed weapon. Click on the link to your state for detailed information.

State

Handgun Purchase Permit/Concealed Handgun Permit Penalty
Alabama No/Yes Up to one year in jail or fined up to $500
Alaska No/No - certain restrictions apply Class B misdemeanor (up to 90 days in jail)
Arizona No/No  Anything from a misdemeanor to a serious felony offense
Arkansas Yes/Yes Range from a Class B misdemeanor to a serious felony offense
California Yes/Yes Anything from a misdemeanor to a serious felony offense
Colorado No/Yes Class 2 misdemeanor or class 5 felony depending on the conviction
Connecticut Yes/Yes A fine up to $1,000, or up to 5 years in prison, or both
Delaware No/Yes Class D felony, and/or several years in prison
D.C. All guns outlawed except for keeping in the home, business, or for specified rec. purposes. A fine up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both
Florida No/Yes A fine up $5,000, up to fiver years in prison, or both
Georgia No/Yes A fine from $250 to $1,000 and up to 5 years in prison
Hawaii Yes/Yes A fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both
Idaho No/Yes Fines and up to one year in jail
Illinois Yes/Yes 1st offense a fine up to $2,500 and up to one year in jail
Indiana No/Yes Anything from a misdemeanor to a serious felony offense
Iowa Yes/Yes A fine from $625 up to $6,250 and jail time
Kansas No/Yes A fine, time in jail or prison, or both
Kentucky No/Yes A fine up to $500 and possible jail time
Louisiana No/Yes A fine up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both
Maine No/Yes A fine up to $2,000 and possible jail time
Maryland No/Yes A fine of at least $250 and possibly 30 days in jail
Massachusetts Yes/Yes Anything from a misdemeanor to a serious felony offense
Michigan No/Yes A fine up to $2,500 and the possibility of 5 years in prison
Minnesota Yes/Yes A fine of up to $3,000, up to one year in jail, or both
Mississippi No/Yes A fine of at least $100, up to six months in jail, or both.
Missouri No/Yes None specified - court determines
Montana No/Yes A fine up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both
Nebraska No/Yes None specified - court determines
Nevada No/Yes A fine up to $10,000, at least one  year in prison, or both
New Hampshire No/Yes A fine of up to $1,000, up to a year in jail, or both
New Jersey Yes/Yes (must be unloaded in public) Depending on the type of weapon involved, you may receive five or more years in prison for a gun carry violation
New Mexico No/Yes A fine up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both
New York Yes/Yes A fine of up to $1,000, up to 12 months in jail, or both
North Carolina Yes/Yes A fine of up to $1,000, up to 60 days in jail, or both
North Dakota No/Yes None specified - court determines
Ohio No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both
Oklahoma No/Yes Jail time for at least 10 days, fined up to $500, or both
Oregon No/Yes Jail up to 6 months, fined up to $2,500, or both
Pennsylvania No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $15,000, up to seven years in prison, or both
Rhode Island Yes/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, at least one year (and up to ten years) in prison, or both
South Carolina No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to ten years in prison, or both
South Dakota No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both
Tennessee No/Yes Penalties for a first violation include a fine of up to $500, up to 30 days in jail, or bot
Texas No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $2,500, up to one year in jail, or both
Utah No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $2,500, up to one year in jail, or both
Vermont No/Yes None specified - court determines
Virginia No/Yes Penalties for a first offense include a fine of up to $2,500, up to 12 months in jail, or both
Washington No/Yes Penalties include a fine of at least $250 (and up to $1,000), at least 24 hours (and up to 90 days) in jail, or both
West Virginia No/Yes Penalties for a first offense include a fine of at least $100 (and up to $1,000), up to 12 months in jail, or both
Wisconsin No/Yes Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to nine months in jail, or both
Wyoming No/No (if qualified) It is a misdemeanor to carry a handgun in Wyoming if you would not be eligible to obtain a concealed carry. Penalties for a first offense include a fine of up to $750, up to six months in jail, or both

Additional Resources

Follow the links below for additional information surrounding gun laws found on this site.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLO-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205