New York Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in New York.
In New York, adults may openly carry long guns in public without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body, unless you are in your home or place of business. (40 N.Y,. Con. Laws Ann. § 400.00.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in New York.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in New York
To obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must apply at the police or sheriff’s office in the county where you work or reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old (at least 18 if you have been honorably discharged from the armed services)
- be of “good moral character”, and
- have successfully completed a firearms safety training course (Westchester County only).
Additionally, you must not:
- be a convicted felon
- have ever suffered from any mental illness or confined to any hospital or institution for mental illness, and
- present any good cause to deny a license to you.
(40 N.Y,. Con. Laws Ann. § 400.00.)
Does New York Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
No. New York does not recognize concealed handgun permits from other states.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a class A misdemeanor to carry a concealed weapon without a permit. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 12 months in jail (or three years probation), or both.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in New York, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.