Nebraska Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Nebraska.
In Nebraska, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-1202.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Nebraska.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in Nebraska
To obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must apply at one of the Nebraska State Patrol Troop Area Headquarters or the Criminal Identification Division in Lincoln. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old
- be a United States citizen
- have been a Nebraska citizen for at least 180 days (except if you have just moved from a state where you have a valid out-of-state license, you may immediately apply for a Nebraska license)
- have sufficient eyesight (demonstrable with a valid Nebraska driver’s license), and
- provide fingerprints, a photograph, and proof of firearm safety training.
Additionally you must NOT:
- be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law
- be a convicted felon, on parole, probation, house arrest, or work release
- have committed certain violent misdemeanors or laws relating to firearms or controlled substances within the past ten years, and
- have been adjudicated mentally ill, mentally incompetent, or a dangerous person within the past ten years.
(Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2433.)
Does Nebraska Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Nebraska recognizes valid concealed handgun permits from other states that have license requirements equal to or stricter than Nebraska’s. If you have a license from a reciprocal state, and you are not a Nebraska resident, your license is valid in Nebraska. If you are a Nebraska resident (or become one), you must apply for a Nebraska permit.
A current list of reciprocal states is available at the Nebraska State Police’s website.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Nebraska, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.