Georgia Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Georgia.
In Georgia, adults may purchase a gun without a permit. However, you must obtain a weapons carry license to openly carry a gun, or to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-129.) For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Georgia.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Georgia
To obtain a weapons carry license, you must apply at the probate court in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old (or 18 if you are a current or former member of the military who has completed basic training)
- be eligible to possess a firearm under federal law
- demonstrate competence with a handgun, and
- submit a full set of fingerprints.
Additionally, you must not:
- be a convicted felon
- have felony proceedings pending against you
- be a fugitive from justice
- be prohibited from possessing a weapon under federal law
- have been convicted of an offense involving unlawful manufacture or distribution of controlled substances or dangerous drugs
- have been hospitalized in a mental hospital during the last five years, been adjudicated incompetent to stand trial, or adjudicated not guilty by reason of insanity
- have had your weapons carry license revoked, or
- have been convicted of specified crimes involving weapons.
(Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-129.)
Does Georgia Recognize Concealed Handgun Licenses From Other States?
Yes. Georgia recognizes out-of-state licenses, as long the reciprocal state recognizes Georgia's concealed carry permits and the license holder is not a Georgia resident.
(Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-126(e).)
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Handgun License
It is illegal to carry a handgun in Georgia, either openly or concealed without the appropriate carry permit. (Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-123.) Penalties include a fine of between $250 and $1,000, five years in prison, or both.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Georgia, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.