Delaware Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Delaware.
In Delaware, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (11 Del. Code Ann. § 1442.) For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Delaware.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Delaware
To obtain a concealed handgun license (good for a term of 3 years), you must apply at the principal clerk of the court in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old
- submit an application at least 15 days before the next Superior Court term
- include with your application a certificate signed by five “respectable citizens” stating that you are a person of sobriety, good reputation, and moral character; and that carrying a concealed weapon is necessary to protect yourself, your property, or both
- verify your application, certificate, and the authenticity of the signer’s signatures with an oath or written affirmation in front of the clerk
- file a notarized certificate verifying that you have completed a state-approved firearms safety training course, and
- submit a $65 fee.
(11 Del. Code Ann. § 1441.)
Does Delaware Recognize Concealed Handgun Licenses From Other States?
Yes. Each year, the Delaware Attorney General publishes a list of reciprocal states. If you have a license from one of the reciprocal states, your license is valid in Delaware.
(11 Del. Code Ann. § 1441(j).)
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a class D felony to carry a concealed handgun in Delaware without a concealed carry license. (11 Del. Code Ann. § 1442.) Penalties may include a fine, several years in prison, or both.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Delaware, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.