Alaska Criminal Statute of Limitations
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
Below are the statutes of limitation for criminal cases which set forth the time periods within which a legal proceeding must be commenced in Alaska. If the state fails to bring a case within the specified time period, it loses its right to prosecute for that crime forever. In general, the more violent crimes have a longer statute of limitations, and with some crimes there is no statute of limitations.
Alaska Stat. § 12.10.010 et seq
There is no statute of limitations for: murder; felony sexual abuse of a minor; unclassified class A or class B felony sexual assaults; sexual assaults where the offender is a state employee and the victim is in the custody of the Department of Corrections; certain other sexual assaults against minors; kidnapping.
Violent felonies including robbery, assault and battery, and manslaughter: 10 years
Other felonies: 5 years
Misdemeanors: 5 years
Any offense that includes fraud or breach of fiduciary obligation may be commenced within one year after the discovery of the offense, with a maximum extension of three years.
Any offense based upon misconduct in office by a public officer or employee may be commenced within one year after discovery of the offense, with a maximum extension of three years.