Connecticut Criminal Statute of Limitations

Statutes of limitations set time limits for criminal charges to be brought in a case. Learn more about time limits for filing criminal charges in Connecticut.

Statutes of limitations set time limits for the government to bring criminal charges in a case. If the prosecution charges someone after the applicable time period has passed, the person charged can have the case dismissed.

In Connecticut and most other states, violent crimes generally have longer statutes of limitations, and some crimes (like murder or sexual assault of a minor) have no statute of limitations—meaning a criminal case can be filed at any time. In certain instances, statutes of limitations are “tolled” (suspended), allowing the government more time to bring a case.

Statutes of Limitations: Felonies and Misdemeanors

Like many states, Connecticut’s law sets time limits for a host of specific crimes. For crimes not specifically listed in the statute, a general statute of limitations applies based on the category of the crime. The general time limits are:

  • five years for felonies (offenses with the possibility of imprisonment of more than one year), and
  • one year for all other offenses.

(Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 53a-25, 54-193, 54-193b (2019).)

Statute of Limitations for Specific Crimes

Below are examples of time limits for specific crimes in Connecticut. Keep in mind that the following is a partial list that broadly summarizes the law. You should look at the actual law for nuances, exceptions, and legislative changes—and know that court rulings can affect the interpretation of the law. (Changes to limitations periods made by the legislature apply only to crimes not yet time-barred and cannot revive cases where the statute of limitations has already expired.)

Murder and Manslaughter

  • Capital felony for murder, arson murder, hit-and-run resulting in death: no time limit
  • Manslaughter: 5 years after the crime

Sexual Assault Crimes

  • Offenses involving sexual abuse, exploitation, or assault if the victim was a minor: no time limit
  • Offenses involving sexual abuse, exploitation, or assault if the victim was 18, 19, or 20: 30 years after the victim turns 21
  • Class B felony for first-degree sexual assault, class C felony for second-degree sexual assault: 20 years after the crime

Class A Felonies

Tolling the Statute of Limitations

Generally, the statute of limitations starts when the crime occurs. But in circumstances where it’s difficult to discover the crime or a victim might be particularly scared to report it, the law might delay the starting of the time clock or extend the limitations period.

Sexual assault cases. For instance, Connecticut law allows sexual assault cases where DNA evidence is available to be prosecuted at any time if: (1) the victim notifies any police officer or state attorney within five years of the offense, and (2) the suspect’s identity is established using DNA collected at the time of the offense.

Fleeing the state. Also, if a person tries to “evade” (avoid) arrest for a crime, the law gives the prosecutor extra time to file charges. In Connecticut, the statute of limitations doesn’t run during any time the defendant has resided outside the state.

Time to Talk to a Lawyer

Statutes of limitations are confusing to say the least. Plus, the same conduct can be the basis for multiple criminal charges, meaning that more than one limitations period could apply. Consult a knowledgeable attorney in your area to understand how the statutes of limitations apply in a specific case.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you