In Indiana, stun guns are known as "electronic incapacitation devices." They're split into three categories:
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-8-1, 35-47-8-2, 35-47-8-3.)
This article describes Indiana state law regarding who may not have an electronic stun weapon, stun gun, or taser; and the circumstances or situations when carrying an electronic incapacitation device is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.
In Indiana, you must first apply for a handgun license before you possess (openly or concealed) or use an electronic stun weapon or taser, unless you are located on your own property or have the property owner’s consent to possess the electronic stun weapon or taser. A license is not required to transport an electronic stun weapon or taser, provided that it is unloaded, not readily accessible, and secured in a case in your vehicle. Peace officers and members of the armed forces are exempt from these regulations.
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-8-4, 35-47-2-1, 35-47-2-2.)
For more information on carry a concealed weapon in Indiana, see Open and Concealed Gun Carry Laws in Indiana.
It is also illegal for persons convicted of domestic battery to possess or carry an electronic stun weapon or taser.
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-8-4, 35-47-2-1.)
In Indiana, most people may purchase, possess, or use a stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, you may not purchase or possess a stun gun if you are under the age of 18.
(Ind. Code § 35-47-8-5.)
It is illegal to carry or use an electronic stun weapon or taser on school property (including a school bus) or within 500 feet of school property. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from these rules. Violation of these rules is a Level Five felony.
(Ind. Code § 35-47-2-1.)
Anyone who uses an electronic stun weapon or taser to batter a peace officer engaged in the performance of his or her duties commits a Class C (or Level 5) felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, two years (and up to eight years) in prison, or both.
(Ind. Code § § 35-42-2-1, 35-31.5-2-86, 35-50-2-6.)
It is a Class D (or Level 6) felony to use a stun gun on a law enforcement officer while the officer is performing the officer’s duties. Class D felonies are “wobblers,” meaning that the crime is either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on how the crime is charged and, sometimes, how the judge decides to treat a conviction. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, six months (and up to three years) in jail or prison, or both.
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-8-5, 35-50-2-7.)
It is a Class B misdemeanor to sell or furnish a stun gun to a person who is less than eighteen years of age. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 180 days in jail, or both.
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-8-5, 35-50-3-3.)
It is a Class A misdemeanor to use a stun gun in the commission of a crime. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, up to one year in jail, or both.
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-8-5, 35-50-3-2.)
It is a Class C (or Level 5) felony to carry (openly or concealed) an electronic stun weapon or taser on school property. It is also a class C (or Level 5) felony to carry an electronic stun weapon or taser if you have a prior conviction for carrying a weapon without a permit, using a false or counterfeit handgun carry license to obtain a weapon, or if you have been convicted of a felony within the last 15 years. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, two years (and up to eight years) in prison, or both.
(Ind. Code § § 35-47-2-1, 35-47-2-22, 35-50-2-6.)
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Indiana, or if you are facing charges for an electronic stun weapon, stun gun, or taser violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.