As in all other states, Utah drivers can have their driving privileges suspended or revoked for a variety of criminal convictions, traffic violations, and other reasons. And motorists who are caught driving during a suspension or revocation are likely to face criminal charges.
This article covers some of the most common reasons for suspensions and revocations and the penalties you'll face for driving on a suspended or revoked license in Utah.
When your license is suspended or revoked, it generally means that the state has taken away your driving privileges. In other words, while the suspension or revocation is in place, you can't lawfully drive.
In many states, "revocation" and "suspension" are used synonymously and mean the same thing. However, some states use the term "suspension" to mean a temporary loss of privileges and "revocation" to mean the permanent loss of privileges. But even in states where revocation is permanent, the driver can typically apply for reinstatement after a certain period of time.
Utah follows the general rules explained above. When your license is suspended your driving privilege is temporarily withdrawn for a specific period of time. When your driver's license is revoked, your driving privileges are terminated and withdrawn until the end of the revocation period.
However, in practice, there isn't much difference between a revocation and suspension other than the label.
Some of the more common circumstances that can lead to license revocation or suspension include in Utah include:
These are some of the reasons that can result in the loss of driving privileges, but there are many more.
In Utah, driving on a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor criminal offense. However, the specific classification of misdemeanor and possible penalties depend on the circumstances.
In many instances, driving on a suspended or revoked license is a class C misdemeanor. A conviction carries up to 90 days in jail and a maximum fine of $750.
You can be charged with a class B misdemeanor and subject to more serious penalties if your license was suspended for certain offenses, including:
As a class B misdemeanor, driving on a suspended or revoked license carries up to six months in jail and a $750 to $1,000 fine.
The period of time your license is suspended or revoked depends on the circumstances. But once the suspension or revocation period is over, you'll typically need to pay a reinstatement fee and might have to meet other conditions before you can legally drive again. The reinstatement fee is usually $40.
Being convicted of driving on a suspended or revoked license can have serious consequences. So, if you've been arrested for one of these violations, it's a good idea to get in contact with an attorney who has experience dealing with this type of case. A qualified attorney can help you understand what you're up against and decide on the best course of action.