In North Dakota, your license can be suspended or revoked for certain criminal convictions, failing to appear in court, and a number of other reasons. And if you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you can be charged with a criminal offense.
This article goes over the various reasons your license can be suspended or revoked and the penalties you'll face for driving on a suspended or revoked license in North Dakota.
When your license is suspended or revoked, it generally means that the state has taken away your driving privileges. In other words, while the suspension or revocation is in place, you can't lawfully drive.
In many states, "revocation" and "suspension" are used synonymously and mean the same thing. However, some states use the term "suspension" to mean a temporary loss of privileges and "revocation" to mean the permanent loss of privileges. But even in states where revocation is permanent, the driver can typically apply for reinstatement after a certain period of time.
Georgia follows the general rules explained above. When your license is suspended your driving privilege is temporarily withdrawn for a specific period of time. When your driver's license is revoked, your driving privileges are terminated (though you can reapply after the revocation period has ended).
Your license can be suspended or revoked for many reasons, including certain driving offenses and civil issues unrelated to driving. Some of the more common reasons that can lead to license suspension or revocation in North Dakota include:
But these are just some of the situations that can lead to the loss of driving privileges—your license can also be suspended or revoked for other reasons.
If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you can be charged with a class B or class A misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances.
Driving on a suspended or revoked license is a class B misdemeanor if it is your first, second, or third offense within a five-year period. A class B misdemeanor carries:
The convicted driver will also be looking at an additional:
For purposes of the suspension, all priors within the past three years are counted.
You can be charged with a class A misdemeanor for a fourth or subsequent offense within a five-year period. Class A misdemeanors carry:
The convicted driver will also face an additional one-year suspension.
If your license was suspended or revoked for a DUI, the minimum jail time is four days and the minimum additional license suspension period is six months.
Once your suspension or revocation period is complete, you typically need to pay a reinstatement fee of $25, $50, or $100 before you'll be allowed to legally drive again. And, depending on the circumstances, there might be other conditions or requirements to getting your license back.
Revoked drivers must reapply for a license in addition to paying the reinstatement fee.
Driving on a suspended or revoked license is a serious offense that carries severe penalties. If you've been arrested for one of these offenses, it's a good idea to contact an experienced defense attorney. A qualified lawyer can help you understand how the law applies to your case and advise you on how best to handle your situation.
Need a lawyer? Start here.