In Mississippi, as in all other states, motorists can lose their driving privileges for a variety of different reasons. For example, you might face license suspension or revocation for certain criminal convictions, getting too many traffic tickets, and even some reasons unrelated to driving. If you get caught operating a vehicle during a suspension or revocation, you'll likely face misdemeanor criminal charges.
Under Mississippi law, a driver's license can be suspended or revoked for lots of different reasons. Some of the reasons for suspension (temporarily loss of driving privileges) include:
Your license may be revoked (driving privileges terminated) if you are convicted of:
However, these are just partial lists of the reasons for suspension and revocation. Lots of other circumstances can lead to the loss of driving privileges.
After your period of suspension or revocation has expired, you may need to pay fees or fulfill conditions before you may legally drive again. Generally, the reinstatement fee is $100 ($175 if the suspension was based on an implied consent violation).
If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you'll generally be charged with a misdemeanor crime. A conviction carries two days to six months in jail and $200 to $500 in fines.
Driving after suspension or revocation is a serious offense. If you've been arrested for one of these offenses, you should get in contact with a qualified attorney as soon as possible. An attorney who's experienced with these types of charges can tell you how the law applies to your situation and help you decide on what to do next.