Stun Gun Laws in Wyoming
Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Wyoming.
A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.
This article describes Wyoming state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.
People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Wyoming
In Wyoming, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.
Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal
It is illegal to knowingly possess, manufacture, transport, repair, or sell a stun gun with the intent to:
- unlawfully threaten the life or physical well-being of another
- commit assault, or
- inflict bodily injury on another.
Violating this law is a felony. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to five years in prison, or both.
(Wyo. Stat. Ann. §§ 6-1-104, 6-8-103.)
It is also illegal, a misdemeanor, to carry a concealed stun gun if it is intended to be used as a deadly weapon. Deadly weapons include any instrument that is reasonably capable of producing death or other serious bodily injury. Peace officers engaged in the performance of their duties are exempt from this rule. Violating this law is a misdemeanor. Penalties include a fine of up to $750, up to six months in jail, or both. Subsequent offenses are considered felonies, punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, up to two years in prison, or both.
(Wyo. Stat. Ann. §§ 6-1-104, 6-8-103, 104.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Wyoming, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.