Stun Gun Laws in Vermont

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Vermont.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.

This article describes Vermont laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see State Gun Laws and Permit Requirements.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Vermont

In Vermont, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to carry or possess a stun gun in a courthouse without authorization from the court. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4016.)

It is illegal to possess a stun gun on state institution property without approval from the institution’s warden or superintendent. Examples of a state institution include state hospitals, correctional facilities, and other similar public institutions. Violation of this law is a felony.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4003, Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 17, § 2103.)

It is illegal to possess a stun gun on a school bus or in a school building. Law enforcement officers engaged in law enforcement duties are exempt from this law. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor, and subsequent violations are a felony.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4004.)

It is also illegal to possess a stun gun on school property with the intent to injure another person. Law enforcement officers engaged in law enforcement duties are exempt from this law. Violation of this law is a felony.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4004.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Anyone who carries a stun gun with the intent to injure another person commits a crime, punishable by a fine of up to $200, up to two years in prison, or both.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4003.)

Anyone who carries a stun gun while committing a felony is guilty of a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4005.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is illegal to carry or possess a stun gun in a courthouse without authorization from the court. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, one year in jail, or both.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4016.)

It is illegal to possess a stun gun on state institution property without approval from the institution’s warden or superintendent. Penalties include a fine of up to $200, up to two years in jail, or both.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4003, Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 17, § 2103.)

It is illegal to possess a stun gun on a school bus or in a school building. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both. Subsequent violations are punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, up to three years in prison, or both.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4004.)

It is also illegal to possess a stun gun on school property with the intent to injure another person. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to two years in prison, or both. Subsequent violations are punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, up to three years in prison, or both.

(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 4004.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Vermont, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLO-web4:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205