Stun Gun Laws in Utah
Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Utah.
A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.
This article describes Utah state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see State Gun Laws and Permit Requirements.
People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Utah
In Utah, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.
Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal
It is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun if it is intended to be used offensively as a dangerous weapon, unless you are located on your own property, in your own vehicle, or have permission to carry a concealed stun gun from the owner of the vehicle or premises. Dangerous weapons include any weapon that is used or capable of being used to produce death or other serious bodily injury. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from this law. Violation of this law is a Class B misdemeanor.
(Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-10-501, 76-10-504.)
Carrying a stun gun with the intent to use it as a dangerous weapon is also illegal in the following locations and circumstances:
- in a secure area of an airport (Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-529.)
- on or about school premises (Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-505.5.)
- while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance (Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-528.)
- during a fight or quarrel, unless used to prevent another’s use of unlawful force (Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-506.)
Penalties range from fines up to $2,500 and up to one year in jail, or both. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from these laws.
(Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-10-523, 76-3-301, 76-3-204.)
Assaults Using a Stun Gun
Anyone who possesses a stun gun with the intent to assault another commits a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $2,500, up to one year in jail, or both.
(Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-10-507, 76-3-301, 76-3-204.)
Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations
It is a Class B misdemeanor to possess a concealed stun gun if it is intended to be used as a dangerous weapon. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both.
(Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-10-501, 76-10-504, 76-3-301, 76-3-204.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Utah, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.