Stun Gun Laws in South Carolina

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in South Carolina.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.

This article describes South Carolina state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see State Gun Laws and Permit Requirements.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in South Carolina

In South Carolina, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is also illegal to carry a stun gun at any elementary or secondary school property. Law enforcement officers and authorized individuals are exempt from this law. Violation of this law is a felony.

(S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-430.)

A number of cities and counties in South Carolina have additional restrictions on the possession or use of a stun gun, so be sure to check with your local municipality for stun gun regulations in your area.

Crimes Using a Stun Gun

It is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun if the intended use involves committing a crime. Law enforcement officers engaged in the performance of their duties are exempt from this rule. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor.

(S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-23-405, 16-23-460.)

Taking a stun gun from a law enforcement officer is a crime if the law enforcement officer:

  • owns the stun gun
  • is acting in the performance of his or her duties
  • does not consent to the use of the stun gun
  • is authorized to carry the stun gun in the line of duty, and
  • is authorized to carry the stun gun while off duty and has identified himself or herself as a law enforcement officer.

Violation of this law is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-415.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun if the intended use involves committing a crime. Penalties include a fine of $200 (and up to $500) or 30 days (and up to 90 days) in jail.

(S.C. Code Ann. §§ 16-23-405, 16-23-460.)

It is illegal to carry a stun gun at any elementary or secondary school property. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to five years in jail, or both.

(S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-430.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in South Carolina, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLO-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205