Stun Gun Laws in Oregon

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Oregon.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.

This article describes Oregon laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Oregon

In Oregon, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to carry a stun gun if you intend to use the stun gun unlawfully against another person. Violating this rule is a Class C felony.

(Or. Rev. Stat. § § 166.360, 166.370, 166.373.)

It is illegal to carry a stun gun in a public building. For purposes of this law, “public building” means a hospital, a capitol building, a public or private school, a college or university, a city hall or the residence of any state official elected by the state at large, and the grounds adjacent to each such building. It is also illegal to carry a stun gun in a court facility. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from these rules. Violating these rules is a Class C felony.

(Or. Rev. Stat. § § 166.360, 166.370, 166.373.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Anyone who uses or recklessly discharges a stun gun against another person commits a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $6,250, up to one year in jail, or both.

(Or. Rev. Stat. § § 163.212, 161.635, 161.615.)

Anyone who knowingly discharges or uses a stun gun against a peace officer acting in the performance of his or her official duties commits a Class C felony, punishable by a fine of up to $125,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Or. Rev. Stat. § § 163.213, 161.625, 161.605.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a Class C felony to possess a stun gun in a public building. Penalties include a fine of up to $125,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Or. Rev. Stat. § § 166.360, 166.370, 161.625, 161.605.)

It is a Class C felony to carry a stun gun with the intent to use the stun gun unlawfully against another person. Penalties include a fine of up to $125,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Or. Rev. Stat. § § 166.360, 166.370, 161.625, 161.605.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Oregon, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you