Stun Gun Laws in Oklahoma
Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Oklahoma.
A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.
This article describes Oklahoma laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.
People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.
Assaults Using a Stun Gun
Anyone who uses a stun gun to assault another is guilty of a felony, punishable by up to one year in jail or up to 10 years in prison.
(Ok. Stat. tit. 21 § 645.)
Anyone who uses a stun gun to assault a peace officer, corrections officer, probation or parole officer, firefighter, or an emergency medical technician or paramedic who is acting in the course of his or her official duty commits a felony, punishable by up to one year in jail or up to 10 years in prison.
(Ok. Stat. tit. 21 § 1272.3.)
Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations
It is a felony to possess a stun gun while committing or attempting to commit another felony. Penalties include two years (and up to 10 years) in prison. Subsequent violations carry increased penalties.
(Ok. Stat. tit. 21 § 1287.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Oklahoma, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.