Stun Gun Laws in New Hampshire

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in New Hampshire.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is an electronically activated non-lethal device that is designed for or capable of producing an electrical charge of sufficient magnitude to immobilize or incapacitate a person temporarily.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 159:20.)

This article describes New Hampshire laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, a convicted felon may not carry a stun gun outside of his or her home.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 159:21.)

Crimes Using a Stun Gun

Anyone who uses a stun gun against a peace office or another with the intent to commit a misdemeanor commits a separate misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § § 159:23, 651:2, 625:9.)

Anyone who uses a stun gun against a peace office or another with the intent to commit a felony commits a Class B felony, punishable by a fine of up to $4,000, one year (and up to seven years) in prison, or both.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § § 159:23, 651:2, 625:9.)

Anyone who sells a stun gun to a person under the age of 18 commits a violation, punishable by conditional or unconditional discharge, a fine, or both.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § § 159:22, 651:2, 625:9.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a Class B felony to possess a stun gun outside of your residence if you are a convicted felon. Penalties include a fine of up to $4,000, one year (and up to seven years) in prison, or both.

(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § § 159:21, 651:2, 625:9.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in New Hampshire, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you