Stun Gun Laws in Nevada

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Nevada.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is any device, designed to disable a person or animal temporarily or permanently, that emits an electrical charge or current by projectile, physical contact, or other means.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.357.)

This article describes Nevada laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Nevada

In Nevada, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you are:

  • a convicted felon
  • a fugitive from justice
  • a person who has been adjudicated as mentally ill or committed to any mental health facility, or
  • a person illegally or unlawfully in the United States.

It is also illegal to sell, give, or provide a stun gun to any of the restricted individuals listed above, provided that you are aware of the person’s history. Peace officers are exempt from this rule.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.357.)

Nevada law also limits minors’ possession of stun guns. Minors under the age of 18 may not possess a stun, and adults may not sell or provide a minor with a stun gun. A child that possesses a stun gun may be detained in the same manner as an adult felon.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.357.)

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

In Nevada, it is illegal to use a stun gun on another person for purposes other than self-defense. Violation of this statute is a Category B felony.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.357.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a Category B felony to use a stun gun on another person for purposes other than self-defense. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, one year (and up to six years) in prison, or both.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.357.)

It is a Category B felony for a convicted felon or fugitive from justice to possess a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, one year (and up to six years) in prison, or both.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.357.)

It is a Category D felony for a person who has been adjudicated as mentally ill, committed to any mental health facility, or is illegally or unlawfully in the United States to possess a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, one year (and up to four years) in prison, or both.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § § 202.357, 193.130.)

It is a Category D felony to sell, give, or provide a stun gun to a person who cannot legally possess a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, one year (and up to four years) in prison, or both.

(Nev. Rev. Stat. § § 202.357, 193.130.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Nevada, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you