Stun Gun Laws in Montana

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Montana.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.

This article describes Montana laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Montana

In Montana, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, cities and counties may have additional stun gun restrictions, so be sure to check with your local municipality for stun gun regulations in your area.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun if it is intended to be used as an offensive, deadly weapon. Deadly weapons include any weapon that is capable of producing death or other serious physical injury. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor.

(Mont. Code Ann. §§ 45-2-101, 45-8-316.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Anyone who uses a stun gun to assault another person commits a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $50,000, up to twenty years in prison, or both. If the victim of the assault is a family member, the convicted person must also pay for and complete a counseling assessment.

(Mont. Code Ann. §§ 45-2-101, 45-5-213.)

For more information on assault crimes in Montana, see Montana Aggravated Assault Laws and Montana Misdemeanor Assault.

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a misdemeanor to carry a concealed stun gun if it is intended to be used as an offensive, deadly weapon. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both.

(Mont. Code Ann. §§ 45-2-101, 45-8-316.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Montana, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys