Stun Gun Laws in Mississippi

Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Mississippi.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a portable device or weapon designed to incapacitate, injure, momentarily stun, knock out, cause mental disorientation, or paralyze by way of an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam.

(Miss. Code Ann. § 45-9-101.)

This article describes Mississippi laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  Stun Gun Laws and Permit Requirements.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Mississippi

In Mississippi, most people may purchase, openly possess, or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, cities and counties may have additional stun gun restrictions, so be sure to check with your local municipality for stun gun regulations in your area.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

In Mississippi, you must first receive a concealed carry license before you can carry a concealed stun gun outside of your residence, business, or vehicle. And even with a concealed carry license, you may possess a stun gun only for self-defense purposes. Peace officers and licensed professional bondsmen are exempt from this rule.

For more information on obtaining a weapons permit, see  Mississippi Gun Laws.

(Miss. Code Ann. § § 45-9-101, 97-37-1.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Anyone who negligently uses a stun gun to cause bodily injury to another commits a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both. If the victim is a protected state employee (including peace officers, firefighters, state attorneys, elected officials), sixty-five-years old or older, or a vulnerable person who is developmentally disabled, the crime is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, up to five years in jail or prison, or both.

(Miss. Code Ann. § § 97-37-7, 43-47-5.)

Anyone who attempts, knowingly or purposely, to cause bodily injury to another with a stun gun commits a felony, punishable by one year (and up to 20 years) in prison. If the victim is a protected state employee (including peace officers, firefighters, state attorneys, elected officials), sixty-five-years old or older, or a vulnerable person who is developmentally disabled, the crime is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, up to 30 years in prison, or both. If the victim is a current or former spouse, partner, or family member, the crime is a felony, punishable by two years (and up to 20 years) in prison.

(Miss. Code Ann. § § 97-37-7, 43-47-5.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a misdemeanor to carry a concealed stun gun for use as a deadly weapon. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail, or both. Subsequent violations result in increased fines and additional time in jail or prison.

(Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-1.)

It is a felony to carry a concealed stun gun for use as a deadly weapon if you are a convicted felon. Penalties include one year (and up to 10 years) in prison.

(Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-1.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Mississippi, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you