Stun Gun Laws in Minnesota

Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Minnesota.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a portable device that is designed or intended by the manufacturer to be used, offensively or defensively, to temporarily immobilize or incapacitate persons by means of electric pulse or current. This definition includes devices operating by means of a carbon dioxide propellant.

(Minn. Stat. § 624.731.)

This article describes Minnesota laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  Stun Gun Laws and Permit Requirements.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Minnesota

In Minnesota, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you are:

  • a convicted felon
  • someone who, as a juvenile, was convicted of a crime of violence
  • someone who has been found mentally ill by a court of law or committed to a treatment facility for mental illness, habitual use of a controlled substance or marijuana, or chemical dependency
  • someone has been found incompetent to stand trial, or
  • someone convicted of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, related to the possession of a controlled substance, within the last three years.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 624.713, 609B.345.)

Minnesota law also limits minors’ possession of stun guns. Those under the age of 18 may not possess or use a stun gun.

(Minn. Stat. § 624.731.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Anyone who uses a stun gun against a peace officer engaged in the performance of his or her duties commits a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, up to five years in prison, or both. Anyone who takes possession of a peace officer’s stun gun without the officer’s consent commits a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, five years in prison, or both.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.504.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a felony to use a stun gun in the commission of a crime. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.02, 609.03.)

It is a felony for a convicted felon to use or possess a stun gun. It is also a felony to sell or furnish a convicted felon with a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.02, 609.03.)

It is a felony for someone who, as a juvenile, was convicted of a crime of violence, to use or possess a stun gun. It is also a felony to sell or furnish a juvenile convicted of a crime of violence with a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.02, 609.03.)

It is a gross misdemeanor to use a stun gun for purposes other than defense of oneself or one’s property. Penalties include a fine of up to $3,000, up to one year in jail, or both. Peace officers and National Guard members, acting in the performance of their duties, are exempt from this rule.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.02, 609.03.)

It is a misdemeanor to furnish a minor under the age of 18 with a stun weapon. It is also a misdemeanor for a minor under the age of 18 to use or possess a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.02, 609.03.)

It is a misdemeanor to use or possess a stun gun if you are:

  • someone who has been found mentally ill by a court of law or committed to a treatment facility for mental illness, habitual use of a controlled substance or marijuana, or chemical dependency
  • someone has been found incompetent to stand trial, or
  • someone convicted of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, related to the possession of a controlled substance, within the last three years.

Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.

(Minn. Stat. § § 624.731, 609.02, 609.03.)

Many cities and counties in Minnesota provide additional penalties for the illegal use and possession of stun guns, so check with your local municipality for stun gun regulations in your area.

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Minnesota, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you