Stun Gun Laws in Maine

Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Maine.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a portable device or weapon from which an electrical current, impulse, wave or beam may be directed to induce a disabling effect upon human beings.

(Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17 § 1004.)

This article describes Maine state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Maine

In Maine, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. If a person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly uses an electronic weapon upon any other person for reasons other than self-defense, defense of a third person, or defense of one’s property, the person is guilty of a Class D crime (misdemeanor).

(Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17 § 1004.)

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to possess a stun gun (openly or concealed) in areas controlled or supervised by the Maine Judicial Branch. Peace officers are exempt from this rule.

(Maine Admin. Order JB-05-9.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a Class D crime (misdemeanor) to use an electronic weapon upon any other person for reasons other than self-defense. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,000, up to 364 days in county jail, or both.

(Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17 § 1004, Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 17-A §§ 1252, 1301.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Maine, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys