Stun Gun Laws in Louisiana

Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Louisiana.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, although stun guns and Tasers are functionally different) is a non-lethal weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by inflicting an electrical charge.

This article describes Louisiana state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and some of the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Louisiana

Under state law in Louisiana, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.

Even though stun gun possession may be legal in most circumstances, it's crucial to note that local law can be more restrictive. For instance, New Orleans Code of Ordinances section 54-339 (which governs all of Orleans Parish) makes it illegal to sell, manufacture, purchase, possess, or carry a stun gun. 

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to carry a stun gun if it is intended to be used as a dangerous weapon. Dangerous weapons include any instrument that, in the manner used, is calculated or likely to produce death or great bodily harm. Peace officers are exempt from this rule.

(La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 14:2, 14:95.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a misdemeanor to possess a concealed stun gun if it is intended to be used as a dangerous weapon. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, up to 6 months in jail, or both.

(La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 14:2, 14:95.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Louisiana, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys