Stun Gun Laws in Idaho

Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Idaho.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is any device that emits an electrical current, impulse, wave, or beam, and that is designed to incapacitate, injure or kill.

(Idaho Code Ann. § 18-3325.)

This article describes Idaho state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Idaho

In Idaho, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you are a convicted felon.

(Idaho Code Ann. § § 18-3302, 18-3325.)

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is a misdemeanor to carry or use a stun gun on school property (including a school bus) at a school-sponsored event. People exempt from this rule include:

  • peace officers,
  • non-student adults over the age of 18 who secure the stun gun in their locked vehicle, and
  • adults who lawfully possess a stun gun in a private vehicle while delivering minor children, students, or school employees to and from school.

(Idaho Code Ann. § 18-3302D.)

Assaults Using a Stun Gun

Using a stun gun to assault, batter, haze, or commit domestic violence against another person results in double the penalties provided for by Idaho law for these crimes.

(Idaho Code Ann. § 18-3325.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a misdemeanor for convicted felons to possess or use a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both.

(Idaho Code Ann. § § 18-3325, 18-113.)

It is a felony to use a stun gun in the commission of another felony. Penalties include a fine of up to $50,000, up to five years in prison, or both.

(Idaho Code Ann. § § 18-3325, 18-112.)

It is a misdemeanor to carry a stun gun on school property during a school event. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in prison, or both.

(Idaho Code Ann. § 18-3302D.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Idaho, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you