Stun Gun Laws in Connecticut
Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Connecticut.
A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is any weapon capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by electronic impulse or current, but which is not capable of inflicting death or serious physical injury.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-3.)
This article describes Connecticut laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.
People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Connecticut
In Connecticut, it is illegal to carry a stun gun in public (openly or concealed) without a permit, though peace officers are exempt from this rule. Additionally, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you are:
- convicted of a felony
- convicted of a serious juvenile offense
- found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect within the last 20 years
- someone who has an active restraining or protective order against you, or
- someone who was confined to a psychiatric hospital within the last five years or voluntarily committed within the last six months.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 53a-217, 53-206.)
Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal
It is illegal to carry or use a stun gun in any vehicle. Peace officers are exempt from this rule.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-38.)
Assaults Using a Stun Gun
Anyone who, through criminal negligence, causes physical injury to another person by means of a stun gun commits a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, one year in jail, or both.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 53a-61, 53a-36, 53a-42.)
Anyone who uses a stun gun in the commission of another felony commits a Class D felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, five years in prison, or both.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 53a-216, 53a-41, 53a-35.)
Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations
It is a Class C felony for convicted felons to possess a stun gun. Penalties include a fine $5,000 (and up to $10,000), two years in prison (and up to 10 years), or both.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 53a-217, 53a-41, 53a-35.)
It is a felony to possess a stun gun in public without a license. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, up to three years in prison, or both. The stun gun will also be forfeited.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53-206.)
It is a Class D felony to carry a stun gun in any vehicle. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, one year in prison (and up to five years), or both.
(Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 29-38, 53a-41, 53a-35.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Connecticut, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.