Marijuana possession, sale, and manufacture are regulated by both state and federal law. It is illegal to possess, cultivate, or sell marijuana in Wyoming. While not covered in this article, it is also a crime to drive under the influence of marijuana in Wyoming.
For information about charges and penalties for driving under the influence of marijuana in Wyoming, see Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana in Wyoming.
It is a crime to possess, use, or be under the influence of marijuana in Wyoming. Penalties vary according to the amount possessed, with an additional $500 fine imposed for violations within 500 feet of a school.
It is illegal to cultivate or sell any amount of marijuana (or possess marijuana with the intent to do so) in Wyoming. Penalties vary according to the amount possessed, grown, or sold; with increased penalties for sales to a minor or within a drug free school zone, or for second or subsequent offenses. (Wyoming Stat. Ann. § 35-7-1031.)
It is illegal in Wyoming to manufacture or sell drug paraphernalia (or possess paraphernalia with the intent to do so). Paraphernalia includes items used in growing, harvesting, processing, selling, storing, or using marijuana. Selling paraphernalia may be punished with a fine of up to $750, up to six months in jail, or both. (Wyoming Stat. Ann. § 35-7-1056.) And selling paraphernalia to a minor incurs a fine of up to $2,500, up to five years in prison, or both. (Wyoming Stat. Ann. § 35-7-1057.)
If you have been charged with a marijuana-related offense, consult an experienced criminal defense attorney. While the penalties and consequences of a marijuana charge are governed by statutory law, only a local criminal defense attorney can tell you how cases like yours tend to be handled by prosecutors and judges in your courthouse.