In Kentucky, misdemeanors are crimes that are punishable by up to 12 months in county or local jail. Misdemeanors are designated as Class A or B (less serious than Class A). (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 532.020 (2019).)
More serious crimes (called felonies) are punishable by state prison terms of one year or more. For more information on felonies in Kentucky, see Kentucky Felony Crimes by Class and Sentences.
A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by 90 days to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $500. For example, possession of four or fewer marijuana plants is a Class A misdemeanor in Kentucky. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 532.020, 532.090, 534.040 (2019).)
Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $250. Second degree trespass (illegally entering a property protected by fencing or another enclosure) is a Class B misdemeanor in Kentucky. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 532.020, 532.090, 534.040 (2019).)
A statute of limitations is a time limit, after which the state can no longer begin criminal prosecution. The statute of limitations begins to "run" when the crime is committed. Misdemeanors usually have fairly short statutes of limitations. In Kentucky, the typical limitation period for misdemeanors is one year. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 500.050 (2019).)
Being convicted of any crime, even a misdemeanor, can have a negative impact on your life. If you are charged with a crime, you should contact an experienced Kentucky criminal defense attorney. A good attorney can tell you what to expect in court and help you successfully navigate the criminal justice system.