Indiana has passed laws to prohibit anyone under the age of 21 from possessing or consuming any type of alcoholic beverage -- these are "minor in possession" laws. Bartenders must be 21 or older, however servers can work in restaurants or hotels that sell alcohol if they are at least 19. Employees who work in stores that sell alcohol must be at least 18 and have a supervisor 21 or older present at all times.
It is illegal in Indiana for any person under the age of 21 to knowingly consume or possess an alcoholic beverage. In addition, minors are prohibited from transporting alcoholic beverages on a public highway unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian who is at least 21 years or older. The individual will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor offense and the penalties include:
The court will forward the driver’s license suspension order to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-8-7-7
It is against the law for anyone under 21 to intentionally make a false statement about their age or to present a fake id for the purpose of obtaining, purchasing, or attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage. The individual will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor offense and the penalties include:
Upon your conviction, the court will forward a copy of the judgment to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-5-1, Indiana Code Section 9-24-18-8
It is illegal for anyone under 21 to enter a bar or any other public place that furnishes or sells alcoholic beverages. Violating this law is a Class C misdemeanor and penalties include:
In addition, bars or other places that sell or provide alcohol may not allow minors to be in their establishments. If they do, the establishment or its employees may be charged with a Class C misdemeanor and the penalties include up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Several exceptions to this rule apply. For example, it is not illegal for a minor to be in a bar if:
Also, it’s not a illegal for a minor to be in a public place that sells or provides alcohol if that place is a civic center, convention center, sports arena, bowling center, drug store, grocery store, boat, airplane, or other public place described in Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-7-11.
Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-7-10, Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-7-11
If you are under the age 21 and found operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year. You will be subject to the following penalties before the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will reinstate your license:
You will be charged with a Class C infraction and the court may order you to pay a fine of up to $500 and additional court costs.
Indiana Code Section 9-30-5-8.5
Anyone who is caught intentionally furnishing or selling an alcoholic beverage to a minor will be charged with the following:
Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-7-8
It is against the law to employ a minor in any place that furnishes or sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on or off the premises of a licensed establishment. Violators will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor offense and the penalties include:
The exceptions to this law includes the following:
Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-7-12, Indiana Code Section 7.1-5-7-13
To learn more about the MIP laws, read Title 7.1, Article 5, Chapter 7 Indiana Code. If you are facing MIP charges in Indiana, contact a criminal defense lawyer for legal advice.