In Washington, adults can purchase a gun without a license. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body, unless you are in your own home or place of business. (Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9.41.050.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Washington.
To obtain a safety certificate or concealed handgun license, you must apply at the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
(Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9.41.070.)
Yes. Washington recognizes concealed handgun carry permits issued by states that in turn recognize Washington state permits, and that:
License holders from other states must also comply with all of Washington’s handgun laws while in the state. (Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9.41.073.)
The Washington State Office of the Attorney General website provides a list of states with reciprocity agreements with Washington.
It is a misdemeanor to carry a weapon in Washington without a concealed carry license (unless you are in your own home or fixed place of business). Penalties include a fine of at least $250 (and up to $1,000), at least 24 hours (and up to 90 days) in jail, or both. (Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 9.41.050.)
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Washington, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.