Stun Gun Laws in Pennsylvania

Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Pennsylvania.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a portable device that is used or intended to be used, offensively or defensively, to temporarily immobilize or incapacitate persons by means of an electric pulse or current.

(18 Pa. Con. Stat. § 908.1.)

This article describes Pennsylvania state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit.

However, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you are in a class of people who are not allowed to possess firearms in Pennsylvania. This includes:

  • convicted felons,
  • people convicted of certain specified crimes (such as offenses relating to driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol),
  • people who have a protection order against them that requires them to relinquish weapons to the court,
  • fugitives from justice,
  • people who have been adjudicated incompetent,
  • juvenile delinquents, and
  • people unlawfully present in the United States.

(18 Pa. Con. Stat. §§ 908.1, 6105.)

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

It is illegal to carry a stun gun for purposes other than self-defense.

(18 Pa. Con. Stat. § 908.1.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a second degree felony to purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you are a convicted felon. Penalties include a fine of at least $5,000 (and up to $25,000), up to ten years in prison, or both.

(101 Pa. Con Stat. § 15.66, 18 Pa. Con. Stat. § 6105.)

It is also a second degree felony if you use a stun gun for a reason other than self-defense with the intent to commit a felony. Otherwise, if you had no intent to commit a felony (but you nonetheless use a stun gun for an unlawful purpose, or possess one with the intent to do so), the offense is a first degree misdemeanor. Penalties include a fine of at least $1,500 (and up to $10,000), up to five years in prison, or both.

Additional fines may apply to repeat offenders.

(101 Pa. Con. Stat. § 15.66, 30 Pa. Con. Stat. § 923.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a stun gun in Pennsylvania, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLO-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205