Stun Gun Laws in North Carolina
Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in North Carolina.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a non-lethal weapon used primarily for self-defense.
This article describes North Carolina state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.
People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in North Carolina
In North Carolina, most people may purchase, possess, or use a stun gun in public, and they do not have to obtain a permit. However, with exceptions for certain law enforcement personnel and armed guards, it is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun in public.
(N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-269.)
Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal
In North Carolina, it is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun in public, with additional penalties for carrying a stun gun (openly or concealed) on school property.
(N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 14-269, 14-269.2.)
Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations
It is a Class 2 misdemeanor to carry a concealed stun gun in public. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 30 days in jail, or both.
(N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 14-269, 15A-1340.23.)
It is a Class 1 misdemeanor to possess or use a stun gun on educational property. It is also a Class 1 misdemeanor to furnish or aid a minor, under the age of 18, with a stun gun for use on educational property. Penalties include a fine in the amount determined by the court, up to 45 days in jail, or both.
(N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 14-269.2, 15A-1340.23.)
Increased jail time may apply to either offense if you have prior convictions.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a stun gun in North Carolina, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.