Stun Gun Laws in Wisconsin
Learn about stun gun laws and possession requirements in Wisconsin.
A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is any electric-current device that is designed to be used, offensively or defensively, to immobilize or incapacitate a person by way of an electric current.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. § 941.295.)
This article describes Wisconsin laws regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.
To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.
People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, it is a Class H felony to carry, sell, transport, manufacture, or possesses a stun gun, unless you are located on property you own, lease, or legally occupy. Concealed weapon permit holders, peace officers, and selected others are exempt from this law. Transporting a stun gun is allowed if the stun gun is enclosed within a carrying case.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. § 941.295.)
Wisconsin law also limits minors’ possession of stun guns. Those under the age of 18 may not possess or carry a stun gun unless supervised by an adult providing instruction in the proper and traditional use of the stun gun. Violating this law is a Class A misdemeanor. Anyone who intentionally sells, loans, or gives a stun gun to a minor under the age of 18 is guilty of a Class I felony, or a Class H felony if the minor discharges the stun gun and the discharge kills the minor or another person.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. § 948.60.)
Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal
It is illegal to carry or use a stun gun on school premises. However, a secured stun gun may be kept in a vehicle, provided that the vehicle is located on the school premises for a school-sanctioned purpose or to pick up or drop off passengers or property. The stun gun may not be removed from the vehicle or used in any manner.
For purposes of this law, “school premises” means any school building, grounds, recreation area, athletic field, or any other property owned, used, or operated for school administration. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from this rule. Violating this rule is a Class A misdemeanor. Subsequent violations of this rule within a five year period is a Class I felony.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 948.61, 939.22.)
Assaults Using a Stun Gun
Anyone whose negligent use of a stun gun causes bodily harm to another commits a Class I felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, up to 42 months in prison, or both.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 940.24, 939.50.)
Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations
It is a Class H felony to carry, sell, transport, manufacture, or possesses a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to six years in prison, or both.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 941.295, 939.50.)
It is a Class A misdemeanor to carry a stun gun on school premises. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, up to 9 months in jail, or both. Subsequent violations of this rule within a five year period are a Class I felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, 42 months in prison, or both.
(Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 948.61, 939.22, 939.51, 939.50.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Wisconsin, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.