In Vermont, you may carry a weapon (openly or concealed) without a permit; and unlike other states, Vermont does not list categories of persons who are restricted from carrying a gun. In fact, Vermont protects the right to bear arms under Article 16 of the state constitution. However, this does not mean that you may always carry a gun wherever you like.
For more information on permitting laws, see Gun Permit Laws in Vermont.
The following sections explain the circumstances or situations when carrying a gun is illegal.
Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Gun is Illegal
The following rules govern when you may not carry a gun in Vermont. These rules do not apply to law enforcement officers.
- You may not carry a firearm on a school bus, in a school building, or while on school property. (85 Vermont Stat. Ann. § 4004.)
- You may not carry a firearm in a court house without authorization from the court. (85 Vermont Stat. Ann. § 4016.)
Penalties for Gun Carry Violations
Carrying a gun on a school bus, in a school building, or on school property incurs a fine of up to $1,000, up to one year in jail, or both (for a first offense). Second a subsequent offenses incur a fine of up to $5,000, up to three years in prison, or both. (85 Vermont Stat. Ann. § 4004.)
Carrying a gun in a court house incurs a fine of up to $500, up to one year in jail, or both. (85 Vermont Stat. Ann. § 4016.)
Getting Legal Help
The penalties for violating gun carry laws are serious, and often include harsh fines and long prison sentences. If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Vermont, or if you are facing charges for a gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.