Oregon Felony Crimes by Class and Sentences

In Oregon, felony offenses are categorized as either Class A, B, or C felonies.

In Oregon, felony offenses are categorized as either Class A, B, or C felonies. Oregon also allows for unclassified felonies that do not fall into one of the other three classes. Unclassified felonies are typically the most serious types of crimes possible in the state, while class C felonies are considered the least serious.

For information on misdemeanors in Oregon, see Oregon Misdemeanor Crimes by Class and Sentences.

Sentence Range for Each Level

A court can impose a maximum prison sentence for each class of felony.

  • Class A felony: up to 20 years imprisonment
  • Class B felony: up to 10 years imprisonment
  • Class C felony: up to five years imprisonment

For unclassified crimes, each offense has its own maximum sentence associated with it. For example, someone convicted of the unclassified felony of aggravated murder faces death or life imprisonment without the possibility of parole.


In addition to, or instead of, a prison sentence, an Oregon court can also sentence someone convicted of a felony offense to a fine. Like prison sentences, fines also differ depending on the class of the felony.

  • Class A felony: up to $375,000
  • Class B felony: up to $250,000
  • Class C felony: up to $125,000

Courts can also impose a fine for unclassified felonies. Like prison sentences, the possible fines for these crimes are stated in the individual statutes. For example, someone convicted of murder or aggravated murder faces up to $500,000 in fines.

Examples of Crimes in Each Level

The following list of crimes organized by classification represents only a small number of the felony offenses in Oregon.

Class A

  • First-degree rape
  • First-degree manslaughter
  • Aggravated vehicular homicide
  • First-degree assault

Class B

  • First-degree aggravated theft
  • Laundering a monetary instrument
  • First-degree abuse of a corpse
  • Unlawful possession of body armor

Class C

  • Mail theft or receipt of stolen mail
  • Second-degree burglary
  • Third-degree robbery
  • Promoting prostitution


  • Murder
  • Aggravated Murder
  • Murder of a pregnant victim

Statute of Limitations

Oregon, like most states, limits how long prosecutors have to file criminal charges. The law that imposes this time limit is known as the statute of limitations. It serves as a countdown timer and begins as soon as someone commits a crime. Prosecutors have to file criminal charges within the identified time limit or they cannot do so later.

In Oregon, the most serious crimes such as murder, attempted murder, and manslaughter have no time limits associated with them. Other felony offenses are limited to three, six, or 12 years, depending on the crime. For more detailed information about these limitations, read Oregon Criminal Statute of Limitations.

Find Legal Representation

If you are convicted of a felony offense in the state of Oregon, you face the possibility of large fines and a very long prison sentence. If you are ever approached by the police or charged with a crime, you need to speak with an Oregon criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Only a lawyer who has experience dealing with criminal cases in the local courts and who has negotiated with local prosecutors can give you advice about your case.

Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys