Nevada Minor in Possession of Alcohol Laws

Related Ads

Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

Illegal for Minor to Consume or Possess Alcohol

In Nevada, it is illegal for any person younger than 21 to possess alcohol in a public place. In most situations, it is also illegal for any minor to consume alcohol in a place where alcoholic beverages are sold.  Any person who violates this statute will be charged with a misdemeanor and may be sentenced to up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If the court chooses, it may suspend the above penalties and substitute a fixed period of community service for violation of this statute. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.020 and Nev. Rev. Stat. § 193.150.)

Exceptions to Minor in Possession of Alcohol

A minor is not in violation of the previous law if he or she possesses alcohol in any of the following situations:

  • for a valid and established religious purpose
  • when a minor is accompanied by his or her parent, spouse, physician, or legal guardian who is at least 21 years of age
  • within the confines of a private club or organization, or
  • during the course of employment for a licensed vendor or wholesaler, which includes selling, handling, serving, or transporting alcohol for that employer. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.020, Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.055(2).))

Minor Loitering Where Alcohol is Served

Nevada prohibits minors from being on the property of any bar or “saloon” where alcohol is sold. A minor who violates this law will be fined up to $500. This law does not apply to a minor who:

  • enters a bar that has dining tables or booths for purposes of eating a meal, or
  • enters a grocery or drugstore where alcohol is sold but not consumed on store property. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.030.)

Minor in Licensed Establishment

Any bar owner or “saloonkeeper” who allows a minor to stay on the bar or saloon’s premises will be subjected to a fine of up to $500. Once again, this law does not apply to an employee who allows a minor to enter:

  • a bar that has dining tables or booths for purposes of eating a meal, or
  • a grocery or drugstore where alcohol is sold but not consumed on store property. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.060.)

Minor’s Misrepresentation of Age

In Nevada, it is illegal for any person younger than 21 years of age to misrepresent his or her age for the purpose of obtaining alcohol. Violators will face up to six months in jail and a fine of no more than $1,000. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.040.)

Illegal Sale to a Minor

It is a misdemeanor for someone to:

  • sell or give alcohol to a minor
  • leave alcohol in any place knowing that it will be received by or given to a minor, or
  • provide any type of payment to a minor knowing that if will be used to obtain alcoholic beverages.

Violators of this section may be sentenced to up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. A court may order an offender to serve a fixed term of community service instead of paying fines or serving a jail sentence.  (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.055.)

Internet Sale of Alcohol

Any person who sells or takes delivery orders for alcohol from another person through the internet may deliver his or her package only if a person over 21 years of age signs for the delivery of the alcohol and the delivery packaging clearly describes that the package contains alcohol. A violator of this provision may be charged with a misdemeanor and may be fined up to $500. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.055(3).)  

Minors and Alcohol Advertising

In Nevada, it is illegal for any person to employ or use a minor younger than 18 years of age to give out advertisement material that promotes the selling or dispensing of alcoholic beverages at any business.  However, this section does not prohibit a minor younger than 18 years of age from handing out magazines, newsletters, or other periodicals that contain alcohol advertisements due to their publication. Someone who violates this section will be charged with a misdemeanor and face either or both of the following penalties: a jail term of up to six months or a fine of up to $1,000. A court has discretion to replace any penalties under this section with a fixed term of community service. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 202.057.)

Talk to a Defense Lawyer

Charged with a crime? Start here to find a lawyer.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Connect with local attorneys
LA-NOLO6:DRU.1.6.5.20141111.29342