Driving on a Suspended License in Oklahoma

Your Oklahoma driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for a range of reasons. If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you could be charged with a crime.

Reasons for Suspension or Revocation

Your license may be subject to mandatory suspension or revocation for certain convictions. They include convictions for:

  • manslaughter or negligent homicide, if it resulted from driving
  • driving under the influence
  • a felony, if a vehicle was used to commit it,
  • failing to stop if you are involved in an accident that kills or injures someone
  • certain drug crimes, and
  • theft of gasoline. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-205(A).)

Your license may be suspended if you are not in compliance an order to pay child support, or if you fail to pay a traffic fine. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 47-6-201.1(B), tit. 47 § 6-206(C).)

Suspension or revocation may occur for many other reasons.

Reinstating your License

Your license may be suspended or revoked for varying periods of time. You should not drive while your license is suspended or revoked. After your period of suspension or revocation expires, you may have to pay a reinstatement fee or complete other requirements before your license is reinstated.

If your license is subject to more than one suspension or revocation, you may have to complete reinstatement requirements for all of the reasons your license was suspended. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-212(B).) You will not have to pay more than one reinstatement fee, however. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-212(A).)

You may have to pay additional fees of $25, $75, or $200, depending on the reason for your license suspension or revocation. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, §  6-212(C).)

Criminal Charges for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License

If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you could be charged with a misdemeanor. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, §  6-303.)   The sentence may depend whether you have previous convictions. Your sentence may involve:

  • a fine between $100 and $500 for a first conviction
  • a fine $200 and $750   for a second conviction, or
  • a fine between $300 and $1,000 for a third conviction. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-303(B).)

In addition, you could be sentenced to up to one year in jail. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-303(B).)

If your license was suspended due to certain alcohol offenses, including DUI, your sentence may involve a fine between:

  • $500 and $1,000 for a first conviction
  • $1,000 and $2,000 for a second conviction, or
  • $2,000 and $5,000 for a third or subsequent conviction. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-303(C).)

In addition, you may receive a jail sentence of up to one year. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-303(C).)

Finally, the period of your license suspension or revocation may be extended in certain circumstances. (Okla. Stat. tit. 47, § 6-303(D-F).)

Legal Help for Charges Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License

A conviction for driving on a suspended or revoked license may result in fines, jail time and further loss of your driving privileges. These serious consequences can affect your ability to obtain or retain insurance, to keep a job or stay in school, and to live your life in general. While the law provides specific penalties for a conviction, your sentence will be shaped by your circumstances and the attitude that local judges and prosecutors have toward the crime. Only an attorney who is familiar with these charges in your community can provide you with this information.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you