Nevada Criminal Statute of Limitations
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
Below is a summary of the statute of limitation periods for criminal cases in Nevada. Statutes of limitations set forth the time period within which the state must commence a case for a crime. If the state tries to bring an action against someone after the applicable time period has passed, the person charged can have the case dismissed. In general, violent crimes have a longer statute of limitations, and with some crimes there is no statute of limitations. In certain instances, the statute of limitations may be tolled, or suspended, which grants the state additional time to commence a legal action.
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. 171.080 et seq.
No statute of limitations: Murder and terrorism
Theft, robbery, burglary, forgery, arson, sexual assault, securities act violation, business fraud or deceit: 4 years
Any other felony: 3 years
Gross misdemeanor: 2 years
Any other misdemeanor: 1 year
Felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor committed in a secret manner: statute of limitations starts to run upon discovery of offense
Sexual abuse of a child: before the victim is 21 years old, or 28 years old if at age 21 victim didn’t realize he or she was victim of abuse
If the victim of a sexual assault files a report with a law enforcement officer, the statute of limitations is tolled
If the victim of a sexual assault is under a disability, the statute of limitations is tolled for the period of disability
If the victim of kidnapping or attempted murder files a report with a law enforcement officer, the statute of limitations is extended for 5 years