Mississippi Criminal Statute of Limitations
NOLO Local Defense Lawyers
Enter your zip code to find local criminal defense lawyers.
Below is a summary of the statute of limitation periods for criminal cases in the state of Mississippi. Statutes of limitations set forth the time period within which the state must commence a case against someone for a crime. If the state tries to bring an action against someone after the applicable time period has passed, the person charged can have the case dismissed. For certain types of crimes, there is no statute of limitations and the state never loses its right to prosecute for the offense.
Miss. Code Ann. 99-1-5
No statute of limitations: Murder, manslaughter, aggravated assault, kidnapping, arson, burglary, forgery, counterfeiting, robbery, larceny, rape, embezzlement, obtaining money or property under false pretenses or by fraud, felonious abuse or battery of a child, touching or handling a child for lustful purposes, sexual battery of a child, or exploitation of children
Conspiracy or felonious assistance program fraud: within 5 years after the offense
Larceny of timber: within 6 years after the offense
Any other offense: within 2 years next after the commission
Statute of limitations does not bar prosecution if person absconds or flees from justice or leaves state or conducts himself so that he cannot be found or process cannot be served