Kentucky has minor in possession (MIP) laws designed to discourage minors from possessing or consuming alcohol. Here is a summary of some of Kentucky’s MIP laws and their penalties.
In Kentucky, if you are under age 21, you may not:
Anyone who is under the age of 18 and is found violating these laws will be treated as a juvenile.
Anyone older than age 18 who violates these laws will be charged a fine of up to $250 and jail time up to 90 days for the first offense. Subsequent offenders will face a fine up to $500 and jail time up to one year.
Kentucky Revised Statutes 244.085, Kentucky Revised Statutes 244.990
If you are under age 21, Kentucky’s “zero tolerance” law prohibits you from driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above 02%. For adults over age 21, the BAC limit is .08%. This means even one drink may make it illegal for you to drive. If you get charged and convicted of a driving with a BAC over .02%, the possible penalties include:
Kentucky Revised Statutes 189A.010
Businesses that sell alcohol may not allow anyone under the age of 21 to remain on the premises where alcohol is sold or consumed, unless:
Kentucky Revised Statutes 244.085(6)(a)(b)(c)(d)
It is against the law for any business with a liquor license to give or sell alcohol to a person who is under 21 years of age. However, the establishment won’t be held liable if the underage minor purchased the alcoholic beverage using a false or altered identification, the minor appeared to be of legal age, and there would have been no other way for the business to know that the person was underage.
Kentucky Revised Statutes 244.080
To learn more about the Kentucky MIP laws, read Chapter 244 “Alcoholic Beverages” in Title XX of the Kentucky Revised Statutes.. If you are facing MIP charges in Kentucky, contact a criminal defense lawyer for legal assistance.