Kansas has minor in possession (MIP) and minor in consumption (MIC) laws to discourage and punish the possession and consumption of alcohol by people under the age of 21.
In Kansas, if you are under age 21, you may not consume, possess, purchase, or attempt to purchase alcohol. Penalties for violating this law include:
In addition the court may order your to perform 40 hours of community service and may also require you to attend and complete a certified alcohol or drug educational program that deals with the effects of alcohol or other chemical substances.
Upon conviction, the court will also order the division of vehicles to suspend your driving privileges.
This law does not apply to minors consuming or possessing cereal malt beverages when permitted and supervised by his or her parent or legal guardian.
Kansas Statutes Annotated Section 41-727
If you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to display or possess false identification to purchase alcohol. It is also illegal to lend identification to a minor for the purpose of purchasing alcohol. Violating these terms is a Class B misdemeanor and penalties for first-time offenders include:
This applies to any type of identification whether it was issued in Kansas or any other state.
Kansas Statutes Annotated 8-1327
It is illegal for anyone to intentionally or recklessly permit minors to consume alcoholic beverages on their property. Violating this law is a Class A misdemeanor with a penalty of $1,000. In addition, the court may order you to perform community service at an alcohol treatment facility as a condition of probation.
Kansas Statute Annotated 21-3610c
It is against the law to directly or indirectly furnish alcohol to, sell alcohol to, or buy alcohol for a person under the age of 21 . Violating this law is a Class B misdemeanor with a fine of $200 - $1000 and jail time of up to six months.
This section does not apply to parents or legal guardians who furnish a cereal malt beverage to their child or ward upon permission and supervision of the parent or guardian.
Kansas Statutes Annotated 21-3610
To learn more about the MIP laws in Kansas, read Chapter 41 entitled, "Intoxicating Liquors and Beverages". If you are facing MIP charges in Kansas, contact a criminal defense lawyer for legal advice.