The State of New Jersey can suspend or revoke your license for many reasons. The state takes suspensions and revocations seriously and may fine you, sentence you to jail, and suspend or revoke your license for an additional period of time if you drive after having lost your driving privileges.
Here are some of the more common reasons drivers might face suspension or revocation and the penalties that can result from being convicted of driving on a suspended or revoked license in New Jersey.
When your license is suspended or revoked, it generally means that the state has taken away your driving privileges. In other words, while the suspension or revocation is in place, you can't lawfully drive.
In many states, "revocation" and "suspension" are used synonymously, they mean the same thing. However, some states use the term "suspension" to mean a temporary loss of privileges and "revocation" to mean the permanent loss of privileges. But even in states where revocation is permanent, the driver can typically apply for reinstatement after a certain period of time.
In New Jersey, the terms revocation and suspension are basically used interchangeably.
Some of the most common ways New Jersey drivers might face license suspension or revocation include:
However, there are many other reasons, including alcohol-related offenses, that your license may be suspended.
The penalties you'll face for driving on a suspended or revoked license depend on the circumstances, including whether you have prior offenses and the reason for the original suspension or revocation.
If you are charged with driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you could be fined or in some cases sentenced to jail. In general:
Depending on the situation, the conviction might also result in the revocation of vehicle registration and up to an additional six months of suspension or revocation.
If your license was suspended or revoked due to driving while intoxicated and you're caught driving during the suspension or revocation, you'll face ten to 90 days in jail.
If your license was suspended or revoked due to an insurance violation and you're caught driving during the suspension or revocation, you can be sentenced to up to 90 days in jail.
In cases where a motorist is caught driving on a suspended or revoked license and causes injuries to another person, the jail term will be 45 to 180 days.
Causing serious injuries to another person while driving on a suspended or revoked license is a crime of the fourth degree. In addition to the penalties provided above, the driver faces up to 18 months in prison, a maximum of $10,000 in fines, and a one-year suspension.
Causing the death of another person while driving on a suspended or revoked license is a crime of the third degree. In addition to the penalties listed above, a conviction carries three to five years in prison, a maximum of $15,000 in fines, and a one-year suspension.
The length of time your license is suspended or revoked varies depending on the circumstances. After your period of suspension or revocation expires, you generally have to pay a reinstatement fee and might have to meet other conditions before you'll be able to lawfully drive again. The reinstatement fee is typically $100.
Because driving on a suspended or revoked license comes with serious consequences, it's a good idea to consult with an attorney if you've been arrested for one of these offenses. A qualified attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and advise you on how best to handle your situation.