Marijuana possession, sale, and manufacture are regulated by both state and federal law. In New Hampshire, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance, which means that it has a high potential for abuse and no generally recognized medical value. (New Hamp. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 259:13-b.) Also, while not covered in this article, it is also a crime to drive under the influence of marijuana in New Hampshire.
For information about charges and penalties for driving under the influence of marijuana in New Hampshire, see Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana in New Hampshire.
It is a crime to knowingly or intentionally possess marijuana (including small amounts for personal use) in New Hampshire. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both. (New Hamp. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 318-B:26.)
Manufacturing or selling any amount of marijuana in New Hampshire is illegal. Penalties vary according to the amount possessed, and whether the offense was a first or subsequent violation. Violations that take place within 1,000 feet of a school may be punished with up to twice the penalties described below. And employing a minor to process, transport, or sell drugs will incur additional penalties. (New Hamp. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 318-B:26.)
It is illegal in New Hampshire to manufacture, advertise, or sell drug paraphernalia (or possess paraphernalia with the intent to do so). Paraphernalia includes items used in growing, harvesting, processing, selling, storing, or using marijuana. Penalties vary according to the violation, with harsher penalties for sales to a minor. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both. (New Hamp. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 318-B:26.)
If you have been charged with a marijuana-related offense, consult an experienced criminal defense attorney. While the penalties and consequences of a marijuana charge are governed by statutory law, only a local criminal defense attorney can tell you how cases like yours tend to be handled by prosecutors and judges in your courthouse.