Connecticut Gun Laws

Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Connecticut.

In Connecticut, you must obtain a permit to carry a gun (openly or concealed), unless you are in your own dwelling or at your place of business. (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-35(a).) For more information, see  Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Connecticut.

How to Obtain a Handgun License in Connecticut

Connecticut residents are issued permits which allow for both open and concealed carry. To obtain a handgun license, you must apply at your local law enforcement office (such as your county sheriff’s office). To qualify, you must:

  • be at least 21 years old
  • be a U.S. citizen
  • be eligible to possess a firearm under federal law, and
  • successfully complete a firearms safety course approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection.

Furthermore, you must not have been:

  • convicted of a felony
  • found delinquent for a serious juvenile offense
  • discharged from custody during the last 20 years after being found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect
  • confined to a psychiatric hospital within the last year, or
  • subject to a restraining or protective order involving physical force against another

(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-36(f).)

Does Connecticut Recognize Concealed Handgun Licenses From Other States?

No. However, non-Connecticut citizens who hold concealed carry licenses from other states may apply for a permit to carry a handgun in Connecticut.

(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-28(f).)

Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License

Penalties for carrying a firearm (openly or concealed) without a permit is a class D felony. Punishment may include a fine of up to $1,000, at least one year (and up to five years) in prison, or both. (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-37(b).)

Post-Sandy Hook Legislation

In April 2013, in response to the tragic school shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary, Connecticut legislators enacted provisions banning new high-capacity ammunition firearms. The new legislation also mandates background checks for private gun sales, a new registry for high capacity ammunition arms, an expansion of the assault weapons ban, and a statewide dangerous weapon offender registry.

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Connecticut, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you