Stun Gun Laws in Maryland

Learn about stun gun laws as well as possession requirements in Maryland.

A stun gun (popularly also known as a Taser, the main maker of stun guns) is a portable device designed as a weapon capable of injuring, immobilizing, or inflicting pain on an individual by the discharge of electrical current.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

This article describes Maryland state law regarding who may not have a stun gun, and the circumstances or situations when carrying a stun gun is illegal in the state.

To learn more about how stun guns work, and how permitting laws vary by state, see  States Requiring a Stun Gun Permit.

People Who May Not Carry a Stun Gun in Maryland

In Maryland, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you have been:

  • convicted of a crime of violence (such as rape, murder, and certain assaults), or
  • convicted of distributing, possessing with intent to distribute, or dispensing a controlled dangerous substance.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

Maryland law also limits minors’ possession of stun guns. Those under the age of 18 may not possess or use a stun gun.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

A number of  Marylandcities (including  Annapolis and Baltimore) and counties (such as  Baltimore County and Howard County) have banned the possession or use of a stun gun, so be sure to check with your local municipality for stun gun regulations in your area.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

In Maryland, it is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun for purposes other than self-defense. It is also illegal to carry a stun gun (openly or concealed) with the intent to unlawfully injure another individual.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-101.)

It is unclear whether Maryland law prohibits the possession of stun guns on public school property. Maryland prohibits the possession of deadly weapons on public school grounds, and whether a stun gun is a deadly weapon would need to be proven in court. To be safe, check with the local school administration before carrying a stun gun onto school property. Peace officers and specified others are exempt from this rule.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-102.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a misdemeanor to carry a concealed stun gun for purposes other than self-defense. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 3 years in prison, or both. The penalty for possession (openly or concealed) of a stun gun for the deliberate purpose of injuring or killing another is a fine of $1,000 and 3 years in prison.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-101.)

It is a misdemeanor for minors, persons convicted of a crime of violence, and persons convicted of controlled substance distribution to possess or use a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, up to 2 months in jail, or both.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

It is a felony for minors, persons convicted of a crime of violence, and persons convicted of controlled substance distribution to possess or use a stun gun while committing a crime of violence. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, up to 3 years in prison, or both.

(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

Getting Legal Help

If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to purchase, carry, or use a gun in Maryland, or if you are facing charges for a stun gun violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find criminal defense lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Talk to a Defense attorney

We've helped 95 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you