In Utah, adults can purchase and openly carry a gun without a license. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body. For more information on permitting laws, see Gun Permit Laws in Utah.
How to Obtain a Safety Certificate or Concealed Handgun License in Utah
To obtain a safety certificate or concealed handgun license, you must apply at the city or town clerk’s office in the city where you live or have a place of business. Your local licensing authorities have the discretion to determine whether or not to issue you either (or any) permit. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old within 60 days of receiving a permit application
- be qualified to possess a firearm under federal law
- show evidence of general familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed, and
- not have been convicted of a felony, crime of violence, offenses involving alcohol or drugs, offenses involving moral turpitude, domestic violence offenses, or adjudicated as mentally incompetent.
(Utah Code Ann. § 53-5-704).
Does Utah Recognize Concealed Carry Gun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Utah recognizes concealed carry permits issued by other states. However, not all states recognize permits issued in Utah. See the Utah Department of Public Safety website for a list of states. (Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-523(2)).
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit
It is a class A misdemeanor to carry a loaded concealed weapon in Utah without a concealed carry license. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,500, up to on year in jail, or both. (Utah Code Ann. § 76-10-504(2)).
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Utah, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.