New Mexico Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in New Mexico.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In New Mexico, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms in public without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (N.M. Stat. Ann.§ 29-19-4.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in New Mexico.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in New Mexico
To qualify for a concealed handgun permit, you must be:
- at least 21 years old
- a United States citizen
- a New Mexico resident (or an armed services member or dependent whose permanent duty station is in New Mexico), and
- able to show that you have completed a firearms safety training course.
Additionally, you must NOT be:
- convicted or under indictment for a felony offense, or have been convicted of certain crimes involving violence (including domestic crimes), drugs, or alcohol
- a fugitive from justice
- someone who has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or have been committed to a mental institution
- addicted to alcohol or controlled substances, or
- prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm.
(N.M. Stat. Ann.§ 29-19-4.)
Does New Mexico Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. New Mexico recognizes valid concealed handgun permits from some other states. If you have a license from a reciprocal state, your license is valid in New Mexico.
A current list of reciprocal states is available at the New Mexico Department of Public Safety’s website.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a petty misdemeanor to carry a deadly weapon without a permit in New Mexico. Penalties include any or all of the following:
- a fine of up to $500
- up to six months in jail
- up to six months probation
- community service, or
(N.M. Stat. Ann.§ 30-7-2.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in New Mexico, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.