Maine Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Maine.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Maine, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (25 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2003.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Maine.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in Maine
To obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must apply at the police or sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 18 years old
- not be disqualified from possessing a firearm under federal law
- not have committed certain specified crimes
- demonstrate knowledge of handgun safety, and
- demonstrate good moral character.
The issuing authority will judge your “good moral character” on several factors, including any past incidents of domestic violence or abuse, specified criminal convictions, and certain reckless or negligent conduct. (25 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2003.)
Does Maine Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Maine recognizes valid concealed handgun permits from other states that have similar or stricter gun laws than Maine. If you have a license from a reciprocal state your license is valid in Maine.
A current list of reciprocal states is available at the Maine State Police’s website.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit
It is a Class D crime to illegally carry a firearm in Maine. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both. (25 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2004.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Maine, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.