Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Nevada
NOLO Local Defense Lawyers
Enter your zip code to find local criminal defense lawyers.
Your Nevada driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for many reasons. If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you could be charged with a crime and may be fined or even sentenced to jail.
Reasons for Suspension or Revocation
Your license may be suspended or revoked for certain driving offenses, other convictions, or civil matters such as child support. In particular, your license may be suspended if you:
- are involved in an accident that kills or injures someone or causes serious property damage
- are physically or mentally incompetent to drive
- fail to comply with conditions of a restricted license, or
- fail to appear for a hearing for certain traffic violations other than parking tickets. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.470, § 483.465.)
Your license may be subject to mandatory revocation for certain convictions. Included are:
- three reckless driving convictions within 12 months
- driving under the influence, including causing a death while driving under the influence
- manslaughter, including vehicular manslaughter, if a vehicle was used, and
- failing to stop if you are involved in an accident that kills or injures someone. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.60.)
A court judge may order your license revoked or suspended for certain other reasons, including:
- unpaid administrative fees
- defacing property if you are under 18, and
- certain traffic laws. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.460(6).)
It may be suspended or revoked if you are convicted in another state of an offense for which your license would be suspended or revoked if you had committed it in Nevada. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.440.)
In certain cases, your license may be suspended if you fail to comply with a subpoena or warrant to establish paternity of a child, or to establish or enforce child support obligation. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 425.443(1)(a). It may also be suspended in certain cases if you are behind on your child support. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § § 425.443(1)(b).)
These are not the only reasons your license may be suspended or revoked.
Reinstating Your License
The period of your suspension or revocation may depend on the reason for suspension or revocation and other factors. You should not drive while your license is suspended or revoked. After your suspension or revocation period, you may be required to pay a reinstatement fee or other fees and fulfill other conditions before you may legally drive again.
The reinstatement fee may be $75 or $120, depending on the reason your license was suspended or revoked. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.410.)
In some cases, you may not have to pay a reinstatement fee, such as if you voluntarily surrendered your license for medical reasons. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.410.)
You may have to provide proof that your vehicle is insured if your license was revoked. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.525.)
Criminal Charges for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
If you drive on a suspended or revoked license, you may be charged with a misdemeanor. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.560(1).) A misdemeanor may involve a maximum penalty of a $1,000 fine and six months in jail. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 193.150.)
You may be subject to minimum penalties under some circumstances. For example, certain convictions for DUI may result in a minimum sentence of:
- 30 days in jail, and
- a $500 fine. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.560(2).)
If you are convicted of driving while suspended or revoked, your license may be suspended or revoked for an additional period of time. (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 483.560(5).)
Legal Help for Driving While Suspended or Revoked in Nevada
As you have learned, driving on a suspended or revoked license can result in fines, jail time, and further periods of suspension or revocation. These are serious consequences that can affect your ability to keep a job, get to school, obtain or keep insurance, and other areas of your life. Consider hiring an attorney if you face these charges. While Nevada law provides specific penalties a conviction, the view of the crime held by your local court system – including your prosecutor and judge – will also shape your sentence. An attorney who is familiar with how these charges are handled in your area will be able to give you that information.