Connecticut Minor in Possession of Alcohol Charges and Penalties

Related Ads
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
searchbox small

The State of Connecticut has enacted minor in possession (MIP) laws that make it illegal for anyone under the age 21 to possess or consume alcohol on either private or public property. These laws are meant to discourage underage drinking that often leads to minors committing more serious offenses.

Drinking and Possessing Alcohol

The MIP laws strictly prohibit the possession of alcohol by minors on both public and private property and the penalties for a first offense are:

  • You will be fined not less than $200 and not more than $500.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-89(b)

Minors found in possession of alcohol on a public highway or street will be facing the following penalties:

  • You will be subject to a 60-day suspension of your driver’s license.
  • If you are not a licensed driver, you will have to wait 150 day before being eligible to apply for a driver’s license.

Minors who are found possessing alcohol in any other public or private location will be facing the following penalties:

  • You will be subject to a 30-day suspension of your driver’s license.
  • If you are not a licensed driver, you will have to wait 150 day before being eligible to apply for a driver’s license.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 14-111e(a) and Connecticut General Statutes Section 14-111e(b)

Minors will be subject to a 60-day driver’s license suspension if they are found in possession of liquor in a motor vehicle.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 13-111a

Minors Making False Statement to Obtain Alcohol

Any licensed establishment that sells alcohol may require you to sign a statement attesting that you are legally over the age of 21. Making a false statement will result in the following penalties:

  • You will be fined up to $100 for a first offense.
  • You will be fined up to $250 for a second or any subsequent offense.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-86a

Minors Using False Identification to Obtain Alcohol

If you are under the age of 21 and use a fake identification or use the id of another person to obtain alcohol, you will be subject to the following penalties:

  • You will be facing of fine ranging from $200 to $500.
  • You may be sentenced to jail for 30 days.
  • Your driver’s license may be suspended for up to 150 days.
  • If you are not a licensed driver, you will have to wait 150 day before being eligible to apply for a driver’s license.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-88a and Connecticut General Statutes Section 14-111(e)

Minors Attempting to Purchase Alcohol

If you are under the age of 21 and make a false statement for the purpose of obtaining alcohol, you will be facing of fine ranging from $200 to $500. 

Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-89a

 Connecticut Zero Tolerance For Minors

It is against the law for anyone who is under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or greater. The Connecticut zero tolerance laws make it a crime for you to have any alcohol in your system while operating a motor vehicle.  The penalties include the following:

  • First Offense—Your driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months. If your BAC is .08 or higher, the suspension will be extended for a period a year.
  • Second Offense—Your driver’s license will be suspended for 18 months.
  • Third Offense—Your driver’s license will be revoked for 4 years.

If you are arrested for a DUI while driving on a suspended license, may wind up spending a year in county jail. 

Connecticut General Statutes Section 227(g)

Sale or Provision of Alcohol to a Minor

Any person or establishment that is licensed to sell alcohol is prohibited from selling, giving, or delivering alcohol to a minor under the age of 21. A violation of this law will result in the following penalties:

  • The person business owner, or an employee of the licensed business will be fined up to $1,500.
  • The person, business owner, or an employee of the licensed business may be sentenced up to 18 months in jail.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-86(b)(1)

Allowing Minors to Possess Alcohol

It is illegal for anyone to allow a minor to possess alcohol or host an underage drinking party. A violation of this law will result in the following penalties:

  • You will be cited with an infraction for a first offense and order to pay a fine of $136.
  • You will be fined up to $500 and sentenced up to a year in jail for a subsequent offense.

Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-89a

To learn more about Connecticut’s MIP laws, read the Liquor Control Act in Chapter 545 of the Connecticut General Statutes. If you are facing MIP charges in Connecticut contact a criminal defense lawyer for advice.

Updated by: , Attorney

Talk to a Defense Lawyer

Charged with a crime? Start here to find a lawyer.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Choose attorneys to contact you
LA-NOLO3:LDR.1.5.0.20140409.25642